Decentralization vs Anarchism

When defining Tech We Trust and the trustworthiness of tech in terms decentralization, what are the main differences between decentralization and social anarchism?

As I’m not an expert on either anarchy or decentralization, I must first apologize for what may turn out to be ill-informed rambling on this question…

If you take the basic definition of anarchy - “without a ruler” - then decentralization is very much in line with that, with no single point of control (or failure). Digging a little deeper, parallels can be drawn between decentralization and anarchy. Open source, for example, has been cited as an example of how anarchy can work in (or influence) today’s tech. However, I’d suggest that there are key differences between anarchy and decentralization in the areas of trust, conformity and individual agency. In tech today, trust between decentralized devices is managed while the notion of trust in an anarchy must be very different (if it exists at all). Mass production and compatibility requirements currently determine that decentralized devices conform to standards and they are not (yet) equipped to truly behave as individuals. Even the humans using the devices are required to conform in certain ways - I don’t think this can be defined as anarchy, but it can be decentralized.

For me, the real question is when does decentralization not make sense? For example, in the management of identity, if you want to provide your identity to someone else, does there need to be some sort of centralized mechanism that can prove who you are? Forms of ID like passports and digital keys and passwords can be lost and faked, people who can “vouch” for you can be coerced. Centralizing this type of mechanism or information brings in all sorts of opportunities for abuse, but what are the alternatives?